Golden Gate Bridge at night

Purpose

SFIPLA works to:

  • educate its members and the public about developments in intellectual property law;
  • instill a high standard of ethics among members; and
  • foster a sense of community.

History

The San Francisco Intellectual Property Law Association (SFIPLA ) is one of the oldest and largest intellectual property law associations in the United States, and currently serves more than 700 active members. The SFIPLA was founded in 1927 and originally named the San Francisco Patent and Trademark Law Association. In 1995, the name of the organization was changed to SFIPLA.

Mike Dergosits
DERGOSITS & NOAH LLP

Mark Dickson
PHASE M, LLP

James Isbester
KILPATRICK TOWNSEND & STOCKTON LLP

Carla Oakley
MORGAN LEWIS & BOCKIUS LLP

Neil A. Smith

2021-2022 OFFICERS

Will Fitton, President

The Business Litigation Group, P.C.
wfitton@blgrp.com

Cristina Rubke, Vice President

Shartsis Friese LLP
CRubke@sflaw.com

Tim Yip, Secretary

timyip@gmail.com

Barrington Dyer, Treasurer

Polsinelli LLP
bdyer@Posinelli.com

2021-2022 ADVISORY BOARD

ANNUAL MEETING

Spencer Owen, Chair
Owen, Wickersham & Ericson PC
sowen@owe.com

Natalie Bize
Sideman & Bancroft LLP
nbize@sideman.com

Payal Patel
payal.s.patel7@gmail.com

MONTHLY MEETINGS

Alper Ertas, Chair
Thermo Fisher
alper.ertas@thermofisher.com

Jordan Jaffe
Wilson Sonsini
jjaffe@wsgr.com

MEMBERSHIP & MARKETING

Russell Peterson, Chair
Digilock
Russell.Petersen@digilock.com

Austin Phillips
Meta
austin.phillips@fb.com

JOB FAIR

Sheila Martinez-Lemke, Chair
Weaver Austin Villeneuve & Sampson LLP
SMartinez-Lemke@wavsip.com

Byron Chin
Kilpatrick, Townsend & Stockton LLP
bchin@kilpatricktownsend.com

LOGISTICS

Ta-Tanisha (“Tay”) Henry
DLA Piper LLP (US)
ta.henry@us.dlapiper.com

PATENTS

Raghav Krishnapriyan
Durie Tangri
RKrishnapryian@durietangri.com

TRADEMARKS

Stephanie Hall
Lyft
shall@lyft.com

COPYRIGHTS

Lindsey Shinn
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
Lindsey.shinn@morganlewis.com

TRADE SECRETS

Taylor Pfingst
Kilpatrick, Townsend & Stockton LLP
TPfingst@kilpatricktownsend.com

IP LITIGATION

Nathan Sabri
Morrison & Forester LLP
NSabri@mofo.com

INTERNATIONAL IP

Nick Aries
Bird & Bird LLP
Nick.Aries@twobirds.com

ADVISORY COUNCIL

Jennifer Schmidt, Co-Chair
Morrison & Forester LLP
jschmidt@mofo.com

CHARLES E. TOWNSEND 1927-1928

GEORGE HENRY 1928-1929

A.W. BOYKEN 1929-1930

ARTHUR L. SLEE 1930-1931

WILLIAM S. GRAHAM 1931-1932

BALDWIN VALE 1932-1933

PERCY S. WEBSTER 1933-1934

DONALD K. LIPPINCOTT 1934-1935

JAMES M. NAYLOR 1935-1936

WILLIAM A. DOBLE, SR. 1936-1937

THEODORE H. LASSAGNE 1937-1938

MARCUS LOTHROP 1938-1939

MARK MOHLER 1939-1940

LEROY HANSCOM 1940-1941

ROBERT H. ECKHOFF 1941-1942

ARTHUR B. BAKALAR 1942-1943

HENRY GIFFORD HARDY 1943-1944

STANLEY SHARP 1944-1945

JOHN F. SWAIN 1945-1946

WILLIAM H. ATKINSON 1946-1947

PAUL D. FLEHR 1947-1948

OLIVER S. LOUD 1948-1949

W. BRUCE BECKLEY 1949-1950

HERBERT L. SHEPARD 1950-1951

STEPHEN S. TOWNSEND 1951-1952

H. MIAL DUSTIN 1952-1953

EDWARD B. GREGG 1953-1954

C. SAMUEL B. SMITH 1954-1955

JOHN N. ADAMS 1955-1956

A.L. SNOW 1956-1957

A. DONHAM OWEN 1957-1958

MANFRED M. WARREN 1958-1959

CHARLES E. TOWNSEND, JR. 1959-1960

GORDON WOOD 1960-1961

FRANK E. JOHNSTON 1961-1962

JOHN W. RALLS 1962

JULIAN CAPLAN 1962-1963

FRANK A. NEAL 1963-1964

JAMES E. TOOMEY 1964-1965

DIRKS B. FOSTER 1965-1966

ROBERT E. WICKERSHAM 1966-1967

WILLIAM T. NYE 1967-1968

MILTON W. SCHLEMMER 1968-1969

RALPH L. FREELAND, JR. 1969-1970

KARL A. LIMBACH 1970-1971

THOMAS O. HERBERT 1971-1972

GEORGE W. WASSON 1972-1973

THOMAS F. SMEGAL, JR. 1973-1974

JOHN K. UILKEMA 1974-1975

BRUCE W. SCHWAB 1975-1976

JOHN P. SUTTON 1976-1977

CORWIN R. HORTON 1977-1978

THOMAS E. CIOTTI 1978-1979

BERTRAM I. ROWLAND 1979-1980

RICHARD E. BACKUS 1980-1981

THOMAS G. DEJONGHE 1981-1982

PAUL W. VAPNEK 1982-1983

DAVID J. BREZNER 1983-1984

NEIL A. SMITH 1984-1985

WILLIAM H. BENZ 1985-1986

REGINALD J. SUYAT 1986-1987

HARRY A. PACINI 1987-1988

M. HENRY HEINES 1988-1989

VERONICA COLBY DEVITT 1989-1990

BERTRAM BRADLEY 1990-1991

JAMES A. SHERIDAN 1991-1992

VIRGINIA H. MEYER 1992-1993

MICHAEL E. DERGOSITS 1993-1994

ANNE HIARING 1994-1995

GREGORY N. OWEN 1995-1996

RICHARD P. DOYLE, JR. 1996-1997

DEBORAH BAILEY-WELLS 1997-1998

LAURA L. KULHANJIAN 1998-1999

MARK K. DICKSON 1999-2000

KATHERINE C. SPELMAN 2000-2001

CATHERINE T. DOYLE 2001-2002

KUNI OH 2002-2003

TIMOTHY J. HADLOCK 2003-2004

INGRID C. MACKAY 2004-2005

IAN K. BOYD 2005-2006

VAN MAHAMEDI 2006-2007

HOANG-CHI TRUONG 2007-2008

DOUGLAS C. LIMBACH 2008-2009

ANDREW B. SCHWAAB 2009-2010

EDWARD J. BABA 2010-2011

JUDITH S.H. HOM 2011-2012

GARGI TALUKDER 2012-2013

HEATH HOGLUND 2013-2014

MICHAEL CARLSON 2014-2015

ALICA DEL VALLE 2015-2016

SIMONE KATZ-O’NEILL 2016-2017

DAN STODDARD 2017-2018

ERIC GELWICKS 2018-2019

ALEX FEERST 2019-2020

ROBERT MCFARLANE 2020-2021

Members may request a copy of the 2021 Annual Report by emailing info@sfipla.com.